Januari wrap-up

Geplaatst op 31 januari 2020 door Emmy in Boeken / 1 Comment

Januari is weer bijna voorbij en dus wilde ik weer even terugkijken naar alle boeken die ik deze maand heb gelezen. Ik heb een prima leesstart gemaakt in 2020, al hoopte ik ergens de 15 boeken al aangetikt te hebben en dat is nog niet gelukt. Maar het zij zo. Op het moment van schrijven heb ik 13 boeken uit en ik verwacht dat een van de boeken waar ik nog mee bezig ben nog wel uit komt. 14 boeken is dan een prima score (en bijna al 10% van mijn goodreads doel!)

Gelezen in januari

Nog bezig in

  • In een land hier heel dichtbij – Marijke F Jansen (hopelijk lees ik deze nog uit)
  • Magic Bleeds – Ilona Andrews (voor het slapengaan, kan soms dus heel snel gaan)
  • Harry potter and the goblet of fire – J K Rowling. Deze geïllustreerde versie is intens zwaar en daarom lees ik maar langzaam (omdat ik hem niet makkelijk vast kan houden). Ik vind hem wel echt prachtig en wordt er weer heerlijk nostalgisch van!

Mijn favorieten van de maand

Wat lastig om mijn favorieten te kiezen! Ik heb zo veel verschillende boeken gelezen en ze hadden allemaal wel iets. Ik vond het herlezen van Eliza and her monsters echt fantastisch en ook Good omens was heerlijk, vooral omdat ik het verhaal nu wél echt begreep. Ik las Heartstopper 3 online en dat was ook een feestje. Ik heb toch 3 boeken uitgekozen die me echt hebben verrast en die nog steeds in mijn hoofd blijven rondspoken.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

A curse so dark and lonely vond ik echt een verrassing. Het begon wat moeizaam, maar daarna: HALLO, WELKOM OP DE HYPETRAIN CHOOO CHOOOO. Dit boek is serieus verslavend.

Stepsister

‘In an ancient city by the sea, three sisters – a maiden, a mother, and a crone – are drawing maps by candlelight. Sombre, with piercing grey eyes, they are the three Fates, and every map is a human life . . .’

Stepsister takes up where Cinderella’s tale ends. We meet Isabelle, the younger of Cinderella’s two stepsisters. Ella is considered beautiful; stepsister Isabelle is not. Isabelle is fearless, brave, and strong-willed. She fences better than any boy, and takes her stallion over jumps that grown men fear to attempt. It doesn’t matter, though; these qualities are not valued in a girl. Others have determined what is beautiful, and Isabelle does not fit their definition. Isabelle must face down the demons that drove her cruel treatment of Ella, challenge her own fate and maybe even redefine the very notion of beauty . . .

Cinderella is about a girl who was bullied; Stepsister is about the bully. We all root for the victims, we want to see them triumph. But what about the bullies? Is there hope for them? Can a mean girl change? Can she find her own happily ever after?

Stepsister was vooral een verrassing omdat het a. supervlot leest en b. omdat het de andere kant van het sprookje vertelt. Hierin ontwikkel je steeds meer sympathie voor de stiefzusjes en wordt alles steeds minder zwart-wit.

These Witches Don't Burn (These Witches Don't Burn, #1)

“Infused with page-turning suspense, bittersweet romance, shocking twists, and tragic turns, Sterling has written a standout debut.” –Dana Mele, author of People Like Us

Hannah’s a witch, but not the kind you’re thinking of. She’s the real deal, an Elemental with the power to control fire, earth, water, and air. But even though she lives in Salem, Massachusetts, her magic is a secret she has to keep to herself. If she’s ever caught using it in front of a Reg (read: non-witch), she could lose it. For good. So, Hannah spends most of her time avoiding her ex-girlfriend (and fellow Elemental Witch) Veronica, hanging out with her best friend, and working at the Fly By Night Cauldron selling candles and crystals to tourists, goths, and local Wiccans.

But dealing with her ex is the least of Hannah’s concerns when a terrifying blood ritual interrupts the end-of-school-year bonfire. Evidence of dark magic begins to appear all over Salem, and Hannah’s sure it’s the work of a deadly Blood Witch. The issue is, her coven is less than convinced, forcing Hannah to team up with the last person she wants to see: Veronica.

While the pair attempt to smoke out the Blood Witch at a house party, Hannah meets Morgan, a cute new ballerina in town. But trying to date amid a supernatural crisis is easier said than done, and Hannah will have to test the limits of her power if she’s going to save her coven and get the girl, especially when the attacks on Salem’s witches become deadlier by the day.

Isabel Sterling’s delightful, suspenseful debut is equal parts sweet romance and thrilling mystery. With everything she loves on the line, Hannah must confront this murderous villain before her coven–and any chance she has with the new girl–is destroyed.

These witches don’t burn is een heerlijke contemporary vol hekserij en LGBTQ+ karakters. Ook dit was een erg verslavend boek, zeker als je fan bent van de wicca-reeks.

Wat was jouw favoriete boek van januari?

Tags:

Divider

One response to “Januari wrap-up

Geef een reactie

Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.